One Northern Beaches Council

Manly, Warringah and Pittwater councils are merging to form a new, single council on the Northern Beaches.

The NSW State Government announced this will take effect immediately. It will be called the Northern beaches Council.

The new Council will be headed up by one-time Warringah Council administrator, Dick Persson, with Pittwater’s general manager, Mark Ferguson, assuming the same role in an interim position.

Council elections will be held on 9 September 2017 and it is understood that the elected council will stand for three years only, so the following council election will coincide with the elections of all other councils in NSW.

The Northern Beaches Council will be made up of 15 Councillors with five wards:

  • Manly Ward
  • Frenchs Forest Ward
  • Curl Curl Ward
  • Narrabeen Ward
  • Pittwater Ward

"Under the stewardship of our new Government-appointed Administrator for the Northern Beaches, Dick Persson, my colleagues Warringah Mayor Michael Regan, Pittwater Deputy Mayor Kylie Ferguson and I, will comprise the interim Council until elections are held…" said Manly Mayor Jean Hay AM. 

Outgoing Pittwater Mayor Jacqueline Townsend said, "While our council comes to an end, I know our staff will take our values and retain what is intrinsic to Pittwater.”

All three councils say it is business as usual with services continuing to be delivered across the peninsula.