Two New Councils for the Northern Beaches

photo courtesy of Shutterstock

photo courtesy of Shutterstock

Warringah Council is to be split between Manly and Pittwater while Manly joins with Mosman to form Greater Manly Council and the top end of the peninsula coming under Greater Pittwater Council.

Greater Manly Council will include Dee Why and Mosman while Greater Pittwater will take in the northern parts of Warringah including Narrabeen, Collaroy, Collaroy Plateau, Cromer, Wheeler Heights, Oxford Falls, Duffy’s Forest, Terrey Hills, Belrose, Davidson, Frenchs Forest, Forestville and Killarney Heights.

Each of the merged councils is to receive $10 million to help fund the process of setting up their new structure.

These are the proposals put forward by the NSW Government and delegates will now conduct inquiries into the merger proposals, including accepting public submissions and holding public hearings.

As the only mayor on the Northern Beaches to embrace the initial merger option, Warringah’s Michael Regan has expressed dismay at the proposal to split his council in two.

“‘Dividing Warringah to make two councils, smaller than Warringah’s current size, is three times as expensive as amalgamating all of us. Why not just create one council of 288,000 people or leave us alone?

‘Warringah Council is the largest provider of services on the Northern Beaches, including; children’s services, libraries, waste collection, sports fields and lifeguards. This decision puts those services in disarray.

‘It also breaks up the largest, most efficient and financially sustainable council on the Northern Beaches for no logical reason,” he said.

Submissions on the proposals can be made through to the end of February. Delegates will then examine proposals and public submissions and prepare reports.

To make a submission visit and follow the links.